Reading: Writing without teachers -Peter Elboe

Dear John,

Last weekend I started practicing free writing which I read in a book of Peter Elbow “Writing without teachers.” I took this book by chance on a library’s bookshelf. Because I didn’t have attention to look for this book, I just found it while looking for my intended book. I have read about this book title in one Ph.D. self-help book. Therefore, this title caught my eyes while I passed by the bookshelf.

It is a small and handy book, so I don’t bring it to my lab, so every night I can read it at bedding time. I have read it for three nights, and Peter Elbow was successful in convincing me to join in his free writing.  I got the same writing problem like his experience,  spent the whole day for only one paragraph, but in the end, I don’t understand what I want to say. Wasting too much time to produce a proper sentence or looking up appropriate vocabulary doesn’t improve my writing coherence much. I need to change my writing method. And I was so  I wrote up three pages just for several hours. I can’t even dream about this number before. Also, the most important thing is this helps me to release the tension of slow writing. Several months ago, I got stress with my slow writing when my deadline was coming up. I want to push myself up, but all of my ideas was gone, I was frustrated. I lose my concentration quickly. I was angry with myself. I am tired.

Luckily,  I could write three pages within several hours. I can’t even dream about this number before. In addition, the most important thing is this helps me to release the tension of slow writing. Several months ago, I got stress with my slow writing when my deadline was coming up. I want to push myself up, but all of my ideas was gone, I was frustrated. I lose my concentration quickly. I was angry with myself. I am tired.

Luckily,  I wrote up three pages just in several hours. I can’t even dream about this number before. In addition, the most important thing is this writing method helps me to release the tension of slow writing. I used to be frustrated with my slow writing when my deadline was coming up. I wanted to push myself up by sticking to my laptop continuously for three days. Finally, my plan didn’t work out, and I suffered terrible back pain. That means my current method was ineffective. Looking for a new writing method is a must right now.

Apart from that, I also found a life lesson beside a new writing process while reading this book. You have to learn the art of letting go. If you care too much about your mistakes and weakness, you can’t move on. They just slow you down and lose your confidence. Of course, in order to improve yourself, learning from your mistakes is needed. But being anxiety and frustrated is not a good idea. Learn how to relax is a critical condition to perform your work well. Now, I realize why the little girl finished her thesis on time. The reason is that she just translated her Vietnamese thought. She didn’t care about all elements of writing while she wrote them down. Even there were a lot of mistakes in her first draft, it was still ok. Later, her superior edited her writing. The lesson is I should not care too much about my writing at the same time I need to clarify my ideas. I made me comfortable to express my thinking, later you and professional editor will do the role of editor for your writing.

Another lesson I learned during my reading a book section about Bloom’s mastery learning. One of the misunderstandings about Bloom’s theory among secondary school teachers is time-consuming, late curriculum coverage. Bloom argued that mastery learning will slow the teaching pace at the early stage because teachers spend more time to find students’ errors and correct them. But after that, their progress will be faster than those in ordinary classes when students are familiar with the techniques.

From this ideas, I believe that a current slow pace will change when I master the effective writing skills, and complete my writing at a faster pace and improving quality. It is also a good point to persuade teachers to apply formative assessment or new teaching methods in Vietnam. Time-consuming is one of their most concerns.

I feel full of inspiration now John. Have a nice day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

